top of page

More Ways to Say I Love You

Over the last four weeks, my husband and I have been working daily on being more deliberate in regard to, one another and our marriage. I spoke about this in a previous post, Marriage on a Monday but the preface of the post was that for many, the New Year represents a time for resolutions and plans for the upcoming year. And for some, they choose a word for the year, a touchstone- a trigger of awareness and a sense of purpose. And for me, rather than dictate a whole year to one word, I choose to rather focus a word to my marriage. For my husband and I, we discussed and are choosing to focus on being deliberate. To have an intentional marriage, where we are both conscious and deliberately maintaining and continuing to build our connection. 


Love sign

While actions tend to speak louder than words, it's also nice to take time, to tell someone how they make you feel—and while we have been more intentional to one another within our marriage, it has become more important to us, that we express it besides using that specific, infamous three-word phrase. 

As we navigated the last four weeks, it has become more transparent, that you can and should say "I love you" to your spouse, in more ways, than just saying "I love you!"

Whether you've struggled in the past with saying those three little words that carry so much weight, or you're simply trying to find other ways to communicate your feelings, I am excited to share with you some of our favorite and special ways to say "I love you," and thoughtful ways to show you care.

I am happy that you are here.

Leaving them a note by their sink / coffee pot / car window / etc.

Thinking of you!

You inspire me

I am so proud of you!!

Call rather than text for a mid-day check in

I'll make you breakfast / coffee / dinner / etc.

I saved it for you

You okay?

Completing one of their household tasks

Wish you were here.

Buy them their favorite treat / snack

Please be safe!

Be an active listener

Coffee runs

Put your phone away

A good hug, just because

Grab their hand in public

How can I better support you?

Sit next to them on the couch

How did you sleep?

Breakfast in bed 

Watch the sunset / sunrise, uninterrupted and alone

Do something spontaneous together

How was your day?

This song reminds me of you...

Have a great day!

Can we go together?

You got this!

How did you sleep?

Do you want to talk about it?

Always kiss each other goodnight

As we work together, at being more deliberate with our time and marriage, we are learning more about creating and maintaining a healthy relationship. Saying the words, "I love you" is so important, but there are so many other valuable ways to express your appreciation for your loved one! 


I look forward to sharing more about learning about your love language and how to cater to your spouse’s love language. In the meantime, I encourage you to take some of the above, and implement them in your day-to-day interactions with your spouse! Once you've given it a try, be sure to comment below about what you have found to work and any other suggestions you may have! Here is saying "I love you" without just saying, "I love you!!"


Thanks for being here!!

XO, Kelleen

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page