top of page

Outnumbered

For the first half of the summer, we had the privilege of having our niece and nephew stay with us.

flower at sunset

What started off as an 8-week commitment quickly became a fleet of an uphill task and commitment.

For starters, our quaint 3 bed 2 bath home was busting at the seams as 4 pairs of feet run from wall to wall, from before sun-up to well after sun-down. Never-mind the 2 pairs of adult feet picking up the pieces behind them and the scamper of our 10-year-old dog searching for refuge. Each room filled with enormous amounts of laughter and imagination flowed like gravy on the gravy train.


The games that were created and the stories that were shared were ones that could easily come with an Emmy award and a 6-figure sum. 

Outside the house, my once 5-seater Jeep had been traded in for a 7-person mom-mobile.

With the need for a third row, my husband and I were tasked with figuring out how we would fit two car seats and two booster seats into my two row, mid-size SUV. There was just no way.


It seems so silly to make finding a three-row vehicle top priority, when interest rates are sky high and the cost of new and used vehicles are rising day to day, but the thought of not being able to cart the bushel of children around day to day or heaven forbid when an emergency arises, was not one I would fair. And of course, the idea of renting a car populated a time or two and every course of action in-between. But with no prevail, a practically new Kia Telluride fell into our lap and although timing is never perfect, it seemed to fit the bill and could easily tow the masses along.


I loved my Jeep and if you know my husband and I personally, Jeep is life... but let me tell you, Kia knew what it was doing with the Telluride. I love the sleek interior. The captain seats and full-size, third row. Even with the third row up and holding children and car seats, the ample trunk space would not only fit two carts full after a Walmart trip, but also all the beach-day necessities. Being in the front and having the ability to turn on "quiet-mode" to where I can BLAST my poly-musical interests while knowing that two can still manage to hear their iPads and the other two can play amicably between the row was a huge incentive!! Not only could the third row fit three kids across the back comfortably, but I too, a mid-sized adult, could fit... and if you have kiddos that need assistance with buckles and chest straps, it is a lifesaver!!


Going from a four-person household to a six-person household brought along a bill that was far more to take than we prepared for. You add the additional loads in the washer and dryer, daily need to run the dish washer, the food intake of the ever-growing masses and of course the day to day expenses… never mind the fact that it’s summer and the desire to be out creating memories was and is sky high... **This is no way a complaint, but damn, money was tight in May and money stays high well into August when the water and electric bills are due and are almost double the norm.**


With four personalities, various ages, and an overstimulated mama, I cannot help but feel a little like I failed. 

I failed in terms of successfully completing my commitment.

I failed in terms of going and doing something 75% of the time.

I failed in terms of creating a safe and happy place for all, at all times.

And most importantly, I failed my kids.


I pride myself in being a good mom and a great aunt.

I pride myself in my ability to understand kids and get along with all personalities.

I pride myself in the desire I share with my boys, that a bad moment doesn't equate to a bad day.

And what I learned is that even when you put your heart and soul into something, you cannot force things.

You cannot force things to fit or to work.

And you certainly can't force situations to play the way we all want them to, in our heads.

In all reality, there were so many challenges but what made it all worthwhile was the endless chatter and laughter- the happy memories I hope my boys and my niece and nephew can hold onto for a lifetime! How often is it that you get to spend half the summer with your cousins??

I learned so so much...

More to come...


XO, Kelleen


Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page