top of page

Sub, Sub, Subbing

When Finley was in VPK, I remember receiving countless emails from his school indicating their dire need for substitute teachers. I remember thinking that I was under-qualified but that the thought of being within the walls of my sons school, getting a direct insight and first hand experience at what he does for 8 hours a day was very intriguing to me.


empty classroom

Eventually, I applied and was quickly interviewed.

I was shocked at the hiring process of becoming a substitute teacher. (A whole other post could be made so I will try and keep this brief). The interview process was fairly simple, I spoke to a recruiter on the phone and then joined a video conference, group interview, where we all did a lot of role play, then I was invited to their local office to begin the screening process. The screening process was pretty straight forward, I was required to bring my social security card, drivers license, college diploma, and undergo a background check. I also did a drug test, but that was due to do a clerical error, in which it was documented that I was going to be a paraprofessional and not a substitute teacher. In fact, when I was going through my screening process, substitute teachers were not required to under-go a drug test, but janitors and paraprofessional staff were - very weird to me, but I digress.


Once the school year started, it was game time.


As part of my employment, I am required to work, a minimum, of one Monday and one Friday, per month. It was amazing how quickly jobs get posted, and jobs get taken, but fortunately I was able to substitute, my first year, at all three of our neighborhood elementary schools. The experience was great because I was able to really see what it was like at Finley's school, and the two neighboring elementary schools; the way the schools are ran and the diversity of the students. I will say, as a substitute teacher, there is a lot of talk and it can be very intimidating when you go to a school, where the reputation is not great, but you learn quickly to just listen to the rumors and for-go those jobs.


This school year, I decided that I wanted to try and only take jobs at just Finley's school. The ease of drop-off up and pick-up was a huge factor, and I enjoyed getting to know the students in my community. I was also starting to get recognized while out with my family, and it was exciting to know that the impact I was hoping to leave, was actually happening. If you were to ask Finley, he would tell you that he is "famous" at school, because everyone knows him- ha! He makes me giggle, and I suppose I am lucky to have such a positive and friendly impact on my son's life. I will say, if my substitute teaching ever became an issue for Finley, I would quickly resign and look for something else, but as of now, my blonde-haired cutie still enjoys walking in to school and hanging in the classroom with me, before the bell rings.


It's so funny, because when I shared that I was going to be substitute teaching, there was a lot of positive comments, but also quite a bit of unnecessary rude-ness. I will be the first to admit that the pay is laughable, I could make double my hourly rate at the Target down the street, but the pros of being in the classroom, at this time, hugely outweigh the limited income. In fact, the benefit of having full availability of working as much or as less as I want was a huge reason as to why I took this position in the first place. I love being able to work 5 days a week if I choose, or just twice a month if need be. I also enjoy being able to choose which class and which school I am working at. There are favorite teachers of mine, that I am quick to grab jobs for, and there are others I can reject and keep moving. I enjoy being able to see familiar faces of my son and his friends, neighbors and more, while walking the hallways and getting to meet all the teachers, in various grade levels. Having the opportunity to have a first hand look, at each teachers teaching style has been super impactful! There are so many wonderful teachers in our community, and I have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them and work alongside of them.


When I started substitute teaching, I didn't know where it would lead me.

To be honest, I had hopes that this was something I could continue to do while we transition to Hudson being in school and who knows, maybe until we have teens who I would feel more comfortable working a more tradition job with. With the summers off and same vacation schedule as my kiddos playing a huge factor, this transition has been very exciting and rewarding. And I know the impact I am leaving among the young scholars in our community is everlasting, and for that, I am filled with gratitude. I have been offered a full-time substitute teaching position on a couple occasions through the administration, and the joy it brings me to know that they see me and my work and time is being acknowledged is huge!! While I may not be quite ready for the 8-3, M-F schedule quite yet, I am excited to see what another year of substitute teaching has in store for me, starting in August.

As for now, I will be closing out the school year, in a second grade classroom. I am excited to spend the last couple weeks of school, alongside 20 second graders, as we endure the exciting end of the school year, and all navigate the anticipation of summer, together!!


Thanks for reading!!

XO, Kelleen



Commentaires


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page