top of page

Shame On You

There are seasons of life where you find yourself in predicaments more than you don't. And it is almost always followed with someone asking, "but why do you keep finding yourself in situations like this?" And for me, and for most people I'm sure, shame rushes in and that's all you can see.

shame (noun) a painful feeling of humiliation or distress caused by the consciousness of wrong or foolish behavior
Snow covered tree limbs

When faced in a predicament where you are feeling shame, I challenge you to look at it from a different perspective. I don't know anyone who has big goals, who has big dreams and a big vision, who doesn't have obstacles. I don't know anyone has a big calling on their soul, who hadn't tackled big hurdles along the way. So, for me, I will keep the obstacles. I will keep the experiences where I overcome them, as they are offered.


If there is one thing that you should know, if you haven't figured it out yet, is that you, me, everyone, deserves happiness. To be fully content and happy, no matter where you are or what you are doing, to hold a heart full of joy. But I also think alongside the happiness, there comes complacency, and for me, I refuse to become complacent.


The difference, being happy, is to be content. Being complacent means refusing to work to improve. And you can achieve both. 

While you are smart and beautiful, you must also be willing to make changes, to take risks and fight for better, whatever that looks like for you and your family, even if it costs you comfort momentarily.


The next time you find yourself in the midst of a hard situation, that you are working to overcome, I encourage you to embrace the mountain, to have the courage to take the steps towards your calling. Go in with your head held high, knowing it won't be easy, but baby, I promise nothing easy is ever worth doing and northing worth doing is ever easy. You're not qualified, and neither am I, but I am damn sure capable, and so are you! There is beauty in knowing that He doesn't call the qualified, He qualifies the called. Keep going. Keep working.

XO, Kelleen

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page